Get on the path to results today.
Get on the path to results today.
We have represented clients arrested for DWI and DUI in Baton Rouge over 18 years. We know how to protect our client's rights in criminal court and in the driver's license Hearing. We know what to look for and how to obtain the best result for our clients accused of DWI.
Many of our clients have never been through this before. Some live out-of-state. We know how to ease our clients' minds by taking over the case and leading the path to the best results in their DWI case. This allows our clients to focus on their own lives instead of letting the anxiety of a DWI control them.
Don't wait! Contact us for representation so we don't miss the 30 day time limit to file the request for the driver's license hearing. We will handle all of that for you as long as you get us on board sooner than later.
We are DWI lawyers in Baton Rouge that defend all types of clients you have had the misfortune of receiving a DWI. We are not divorce attorneys, personal injury lawyer, or immigration lawyers trying to get a little DWI work to help pay the staff. We are dedicated to providing criminal and DWI defense representation to our clients in Baton Rouge and surrounding areas. See below for answers to common Baton Rouge DWI questions.
Louisiana is known for the having tough criminal DUI laws. In addition to penalizing drivers with a Blood Alcohol Content above .08%, Louisiana also penalizes drivers with a Blood Alcohol Content above .02% for those under the age of 21. Louisiana also provides for mandatory jail time if the offense of DWI driving includes a BAC of .15% or above.
An arrest and/or conviction for a drunk driving in Baton Rouge, Louisiana carries serious consequences that which you should consult a criminal defense DWI lawyer. Defendants charged with a DUI/DWI may be looking at time in jail, suspension or revocation of their driver’s license, expensive fines, required alcohol/drug tests, MADD victim impact panel and required education courses. Additionally, the judge in the criminal court case may require that the defendant's vehicle include an interlock device for drivers convicted of DWI/DUI.
Driver’s license suspension may be required upon refusal of the breathalyzer and/or submittal of the breathalyzer when blood alcohol content is over the legal limit. A DUI/DWI could also affect your education, current job, your future career potential and increase your insurance rates, including possible SR-22 insurance.
However, being arrested for a DUI/DWI does not necessarily mean that you will be convicted and lose your license. The state or city has the burden of proving the criminal charges against you and you are entitled to test the strength of the prosecutor’s case and to contest suspension of your driver’s license at the administrative hearing, which is separate from the criminal case.
Hiring a skilled Baton Rouge DUI attorney will help you to defend your rights against a criminal DUI/DWI charge as well as the driver’s license case and to minimize the impact that the DUI charge has on your future.
Louisiana DWI laws get stricter every year
Watch for 30 Day Deadline
Please reach us at if you cannot find an answer to your question.
You can drive as long as you have in your possession the temporary license issued at the time of your arrest. This temporary license should be good for 30 days.
You will need to file a request for an administrative hearing to fight the DMV's proposed suspension of your driver's license. If you win, you may be able to reinstate your license. Otherwise, you would need to apply for a hardship license.
Yes. For first offense adult DWI, the suspension period is generally 90 days. You should request an administrative hearing to fight the suspension. An experienced Baton Rouge DWI attorney can help with this.
For first offense refusal, one year. The penalties increase as the number of arrests/refusals increase.
You can apply for a hardship license at the DMV if it is a hardship on your life to not be able to drive.
It depends on the other facts and circumstances surrounding the arrest. The results from the breath test are only one piece of evidence the prosecution would attempt to use to prove its case against you.
It can. The DMV may require that you obtain SR-22 insurance to continue to drive.
It means you arrested for DWI and the prosecutor filed a formal charge charging you with DWI, operating a vehicle while intoxicated in the city limits of Baton Rouge. The Baton Rouge City Prosecutor is the prosecuting authority in Baton Rouge. They are very tough and hard-nosed when it comes to DWI in Baton Rouge or any other alcohol-related crime.
After you are arrested, paid your bond, and released from jail, you should be given some paperwork for your DWI or DUI from the arresting officer. You may have a white sheet of paper that is your temporary permit to drive. Keep this on you at all times. You have 30 days from the date of arrest to request a driver’s license appeal hearing to challenge the suspension of your license. Our Baton Rouge DWI attorneys handle that for you if you become a client.
After you get out of jail and our DUI attorneys handle the request of the license hearing. If your arrest was by a Baton Rouge City Police officer, you should be given a court date in your paperwork. Let us know when that DWI arraignment date is so we can go for you so you don’t have to miss school or work.
If you refused the breath test, you could still get arrested in Baton Rouge by the officer. The breath test for alcohol in your blood is only another piece of evidence or even a fact that may be used against you to support a DWI conviction. The officer uses his observations of you as evidence for a DWI conviction in Baton Rouge.
The Child Endangerment provision of the DWI statute in Louisiana provides for more serious penalties if you get arrested for DWI while a child is in the car with you. Prosecutors may try to put you in jail for a long time. Our DWI defense attorneys know how to combat them with effective DWI strategies for years of experience.
You could get arrested the next day for DWI if the officer can prove probable cause to believe you were operating a vehicle while under the influence. Usually, the driver gets into a wreck and runs. The driver thinks he is under the influence and bolts so he can avoid a DWI. This is actually a hit and run, which is a serious misdemeanor in Baton Rouge.
Yes, it happens quite often in Baton Rouge City Court. The officer’s observations that indicate you were under the influence may support the probable cause to arrest although you blew under the legal limit. For instance, if you got into a car accident, told the officer you’d been drinking at Fred’s all evening and were slurring speech, and stumbling during the field sobriety tests, then you could get pinned with DWI although you didn’t blow.
Yes, the LSU Police Department make a lot of DWI arrests on campus. During game days, particularly, DWI arrests happen frequently. If an LSU Police officer arrests you, you will have court in District Court in Baton Rouge.
Sometimes, officers make bad mistakes or they are just being ill-willed to someone and decide to arrest them for DWI although there is little evidence of the defendant being under the influence.
You will need to do is hire a bondsman to bond him out of jail. Hiring the bondsman will allow you to only pay approximately 10-12% of the bail. However, you do not get your money back since it is his fee for putting up the entire amount. If you put up all the bail, you can get it all back after the case is over and your friend goes to court. If your friend does not go to court, you could lose that money.
If the officer does not see you driving, he may still arrest you if has reason to believe you were driving the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs or both. For instance, he may ask you if you were driving the vehicle. If you said that you were, this can support his probable cause to arrest you for DWI in Baton Rouge.
Copyright © 2023 Baton Rouge DWI Lawyer - All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer: The information on this website is not formal legal advice nor does it create an attorney-client privilege.
Licensed in Louisiana